Love Lost.

I never used to like holding hands 

because  they would always get clammy from the nervousness 

but to feel the warmth & closeness of another person 

is all I’ve ever desired because of you.

you’d trace your fingertips across my face & stare deeply into my eyes 

the most intimate I’ve ever been 

& I’ve been searching for that same feeling ever since

you loved so gracefully

with your whole heart & soul, unconditionally.

at the time I wasn’t able to fully express how much you meant to me 

but I thought you could see how my eyes lit up whenever you entered the room

I thought you could hear my heart pumping rapidly underneath my shirt whenever I kissed you

I thought you could feel the fire you ignited within my soul whenever you hugged me

I thought you could smell the scent of bitterness escape every broken part of me you’ve touched 

I guess that just wasn’t enough

I know you deserved to be told every morning  how golden you are.

the love I have for you will never depart

no matter the distance or how far we’ve grown apart 

a letter to a love lost.

2 thoughts on “Love Lost.”

Leave a Reply

